Protected Characteristics

   Promoting the Protected Characteristics at Leavening Community Primary School

We work to ensure that our children understand that:

We are one big school family

Everyone is different

We celebrate our differences

We are all equal in our differences


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

1.   Age


2.   Disability

3.   Gender reassignment

4.   Race

5.   Religion or belief

6.   Marriage or civil partnership

7.   Sex

8.   Sexual orientation

9.   Pregnancy and maternity

At Leavening Community Primary, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.

Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

·         When you are in the workplace

·         When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)

·         When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)

·         When you use transport

·         When you join a club or association (for example, your local rugby or football/gymnastic/swimming club)

·         When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments


See the links below for further information:-

1.   Embedding the protected characteristics

2.   How we promote the protected characteristics

3. Where do the protected characteristics feature in our curriculum?