S3ructure of the Governing Body


TPC = Tracking, Performance and Curriculum | FHSP = Finance, Health & Safety and Premises | HTP = Head Teacher’s Performance
Clerk: Laura Waites

Name Category Appointed by
Term of office
Attendance record
Committee/key area monitor of the school development plan
Other positions of responsibility
Relevant business interests
Relationship to school
(including spouses & relatives)
James Robinson

Chair of Governors
Parent Governor

Governing Body 18/03/2023  4 years Good Rapid Improvement Group
(all Governors welcome)
Dr. Neil Audsley Vice Chair
Co-Opted Governor
Governing Body 13/03/2023  4 years Good Rapid Improvement Group
(all Governors welcome)
HT Performance Management
Health & Safety
Sian Mitchell

Head Teacher

Governing Body  01/05/2018 N/A Good All Head Teacher N/A N/A
David Griffin  Co-Opted Governor Governing Body 11/12/2023  4 years Good HT Performance Management
Curriculum development
Jan Lomas  Co-Opted Governor Governing Body 15/09/2021 4 years Good SEND/Vulnerable pupils
Governor lead for pupil mental health
HT Performance Management
Elaine Phillips Co-Opted Governor Governing Body 30/06/2021 4 years Good All
Finance and Marketing
Hannah Cooke Staff Governor Governing Body 01/09/2023 4 years N/A All N/A N/A N/A
Neil Clark Parent Governor Governing Body 15/11/2022 4 years Good English link governor N/A N/A N/A
Emma Isaacs Local Authority Governor Governing Body 24/01/2024 4 years N/A All N/A N/A N/A

The role of the Chair for each committee is shared among all Governors.
All Governors form each committee: Finance, Rapid Improvement Group, Curriculum & Standards, Health & Safety / Safeguarding


Governors who left post in the academic year 2020/2021

Name Category Date appointed
Term of office
Date stepped down
Appointed by
David Sharpe Co-opted Governor
Sep 2017
4 years
Governing body
Susie Kemp Co-opted Governor
Feb 2019 2 years
15/03/2021 Governing body


Governors who left post in the academic year 2021/2022

Name Category Date appointed
Term of office
Date stepped down
Appointed by
Louise Tolhurst Parent Governor
19/09/2018 3 years
04/02/2022 Election process followed. Governor appointed.

Governors who left post in the academic year 2022/2023

Name Category Date appointed
Term of office
Date stepped down
Appointed by
Dr Sandra Whitson Local Authority Governor
18/01/2021 2 years
08/03/2023 Local Authority/
Governing Body
Jane Price  Staff Governor 14/06/2021 2 years  31/08/2023 Governing Body  

The Governing Body at Leavening School is as follows:

Chair of Governors – James Robinson

“I have been a Parent Governor since 2015 and became Chair of Governors in September 2018. I have 5 children, 4 of them currently at Leavening School and when my youngest is old enough, she will also attend. At work, I am a barrister based in York and Newcastle.”

Vice Chair of Governors – Dr. Neil Audsley

“I was Chair of Governors for 12 years and a member of the Governing Body for even longer. My two teenage sons attended Leavening School.”

Head Teacher – Sian Mitchell

“I have been the Head Teacher at Leavening Community Primary since 2012 and have thoroughly enjoyed working with each and every single pupil at the school. I have embraced each challenge with passion and continue to do so. I have 2 young children, who keep me busy when I am not at school.”

Parent Governor – Neil Clark

I grew up in Bishop Wilton and later moved to Manchester to study illustration and animation. I went on to live in Leeds, building a career in design for over 15 years. I’ve now got my dream job, working from home as an author and illustrator of children’s books. I moved to Leavening in 2022 and live with my wife, Dalia, and our daughter Nola, who attends the village school. When I find the time, I enjoy playing and listening to music!”


Co-Opted Governor – David Griffin

David is a retired police officer who comes from a family of teachers. He has served on governing bodies in the NHS and is a parish councillor in Thixendale. He joined the Leavening governing board in 2020 to contribute to the local community and provide some external insight for the work of the board.


Co-Opted Governor – Jan Lomas

I am delighted to have been appointed as a co-opted governor for Leavening Primary School! I have spent my life in various education roles including primary headship, Ofsted Inspection and over the past 20 years , school improvement consultancy in this country and overseas. Having retired two years ago, I remain passionate about ensuring all children receive the very best education and thus I am excited to support all at Leavening, as I know this aim is at the forefront of all they do!

Co-Opted Governor – Elaine Phillips

I am currently a Development Director at Bootham School. I work closely with our alumni and parents to foster community and participation in school life. I am also a trustee of several York based charities with a particular emphasis on expanding life opportunities through education.  I am a Chartered Accountant and previously worked for Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers and as a company director of a Yorkshire based telecommunications company.  


Staff Governor – Hannah Cooke

After moving to Yorkshire from Leicestershire in 2019, I started working at Leavening Community Primary School in September 2020 as an Advanced Teaching Assistant in the Nursery. During my time at Leavening I have helped in the various classes. I have a passion and love for the Early Years, completing a BA (Hons) Degree in Early childhood education in 2023. Outside of school, I love playing for my local football team and spending time exploring outside.  


Associate Governor – Emma Isaacs

I lived in Greece for 16 years; I loved learning the language and culture while working in a restaurant and planning weddings. I returned to the UK in 2013 and now live in Norton with my family.

I feel very lucky to have Leavening Primary School. My youngest son loves it there. My middle-son is autistic and non-verbal. He attends a school in Scarborough. My eldest son Thomas is in his twenties.

I am a very passionate person and love a challenge. I am now studying for my Positive Psychology diploma after completing my Psychology and Counselling diploma. I love to help out at the school any way I can. I am looking forward to being a part of the governing board.